The Verdict: Pro-collagen Marine Cream

For the last few months I’ve been using the @elemis #procollagenmarinecream as my day time moisturiser. I’ve wanted to try this for a while and was lucky enough to get this in my Christmas haul this year. 🙌🏽

It’s long been touted as a #skincarehero, having been written up as a ‘Beauty Hero’ by @BritishVogue a few years ago. It’s a gel-based moisturiser and its hero ingredient is the anti-oxidant Padina Pavonica, found in marine algae, which protects against the ageing effects of free-radical damage. It’s also won ‘Best Moisturiser’ at the @QVC beauty awards so its a customer fave💪🏽

What I really like about this product is the cooling texture which slides over the skin and is absorbed pretty quickly. I’ve layered this over various serums and haven’t found any issues with pilling, which, considering it’s often been worn under makeup, is ideal.

It’s a pretty good hydrator, even after a full day, my skin doesn’t feel dry and does feel altogether firmer BUT this only lasts until I wash my face i.e. it doesn’t seem to treat dryness so much as maintain hydration (I’ve tried with a variety of balm and non-balm cleansers and it’s the same story for me). I will caveat this with the fact that I have combination skin and so maybe normal skin types will fare better than mine. However, for me that’s a little disappointing at this price point 💦

My other bugbear (and apologies but this is totally frivolous and may only be understood by the most obsessive beauty fan 😳…) is that I WISH the packaging was a little sexier. Now, hear me out, this might be the most inane reason to not reach for a product but for me, doing my skincare regime is as much for fun as function, so being able to reach for something both effective and visually beautiful brings me untold joy.💫

Bottom line, would I buy this again? Answer…probably, but only for the summer when my skin needs a little less to drink. I can’t however guarantee my fidelity when there are just so many newer, and cheaper, effective formulations out there, flirting with my pay check. It’s just outcompeted in my opinion, the equivalent of Don Draper’s wholesome housewife against an onslaught of young and willing secretaries. 🤷🏽‍♀️

Has anyone else tried this and what were your thoughts? Do you think it’s sexy enough? 🤔

#selfcare #antiageing #skincaregime #skin #Discoverunder1k #Skinstagram #Skinstagrammer #Skincarelover #Skincareblogger #Bblogger #Instabeauty #productreview #honestreview

Leave a Comment